LWTF Elects New Chair

Molly Butler Hart of Warren has been elected Chair of the Lake Waramaug Task Force, succeeding Linda Frank of Washington.

Under the leadership of Ms. Frank for the last five years, the Task Force has continued to improve the quality of Lake Waramaug. Water clarity is now 8 to 10 feet in depth. Phosphorous readings are 50% lower than they were 20 years ago. Harmful algae blooms are now less frequent, less intense and of shorter duration. The lake is relatively free of invasive plant species.

The Task Force continues to improve the lake. This spring it installed a new and extensive aeration system designed to aid water clarity. An erosion control program is currently being launched to reduce phosphorous leakage into the lake.

Molly Butler Hart, the new Chair, is the founding Executive Editor of Money-Media, which now operates as part of the Financial Times of London. She is also a board member of the Johns Island Community Service League.

Other Task Force board members are: Anthony Bedini, Randy Bernard, Carolyn Brau, Kristen Browne, Jay Combs, Hilary Hopkins Criollo, Kenneth Hecken, Jim Hicks, Joan Larned, David Lindley, Richard Loughney, Kirby Mullen, David Robinson, Dr. Eric Salk, Dan Scherr, Lee Vance and Thomas Yamin. Tom McGowan is the executive director.